April

I Wish You All the Best

Staff Pick Badge
I Wish You All the Best By Mason Deaver Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338306125
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: PUSH - May 14th, 2019

 

When Ben De Backer comes out to their parents as nonbinary, they're thrown out of their house and forced to move in with their estranged older sister, Hannah, and her husband. Ben tries to keep a low profile at their new school while finishing senior year, but when a student named Nathan takes them under his wing, Ben finds more than they could have imagined. Heartbreaking, beautiful, important, and romantic, this book will sweep you off your feet. Give to the teen in your life, but give it a read yourself as well—I promise you'll fall in love.

April


Slay

Staff Pick Badge
SLAY By Brittney Morris Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534445420
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 24th, 2019

 

A high school senior secretly creates a massive multiplayer online role-playing game dedicated to black culture but is attacked in mainstream media after a player is murdered. Perfect for fans of The Hate You Give and Ready Player One. You'll be ready to SLAY when you're done.

April


The Right Swipe

Staff Pick Badge
The Right Swipe: A Novel By Alisha Rai Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062878090
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Avon - August 6th, 2019

 

In this modern romance, we meet Rhiannon, a cynical dating app owner who has a magical night with former pro-football player Samson Lima. But then he ghosts her...only to re-appear months later as a business competitor. Ouch. Rai engages with current issues such as the #MeToo movement and CTE in the NFL, and she does so masterfully while still creating a fun and enjoyable read. 

April


Wild and Crooked

Staff Pick Badge
Wild and Crooked By Leah Thomas Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781547600021
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Bloomsbury YA - June 4th, 2019

 

Kalyn's father murdered Gus's father seventeen years ago. Or did he? In Wild and Crooked, Thomas delves into the prejudices around the murder that split their small Kentucky town and their families in half, while also deftly exploring family, social class, sexuality, homophobia, poverty, and disability in a way that never feels forced. The book avoids the trap of a Romeo and Juliet romance and instead focuses on family and friendship in a gripping, heartfelt novel of forgiveness and love.

April


The Key to Happily Ever After

Staff Pick Badge
The Key to Happily Ever After By Tif Marcelo Cover Image
$16.00
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781501197581
Published: Gallery Books - May 14th, 2019

 

The Key To Happily Ever After: Three sisters inherit their family's wedding planning business in this fun, heartfelt rom-com. With the perfect blend of sisterhood, romance, and friendship, Marcelo brings the characters to life--and will enchant you with the wedding planning details throughout. Perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory.

 

April


Birthday

Staff Pick Badge
Birthday: A Novel By Meredith Russo Cover Image
$18.99
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781250129833
Published: Flatiron Books - May 21st, 2019

 

Birthday follows best-friends-from-birth Eric and Morgan over the course of their joint birthdays from ages thirteen to eighteen. It feels viscerally real as it faces issues such as homophobia and transphobia in the south, family tension, and the struggles of growing up in a poor rural area.

April


Ayesha At Last

Staff Pick Badge
Ayesha at Last By Uzma Jalaluddin Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781984802798
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Berkley - June 4th, 2019

 

If you, like me, are a sucker for a Pride and Prejudice retelling, then this is a must-read. Set within the Toronto Indian Muslim community, this one makes Pride and Prejudice feel fresh and new, while still weaving in the elements we love from the original. 

April


With the Fire on High

Staff Pick Badge
With the Fire on High By Elizabeth Acevedo Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062662835
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 7th, 2019

 

In Acevedo's sophomore novel, she tackles complex issues of teen parenthood and identity in a thoughtful way. Readers will be captured by Emoni's story--and her cooking. Be ready to root for her and get hungry!

April


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - April