Engel

The God of Endings (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The God of Endings: A Novel By Jacqueline Holland Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781250856784
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Flatiron Books - March 26th, 2024

I always love a new, refreshing take on vampires, and Jacqueline Holland's version is both troubling and fascinating. Great for readers of Claire Kohda, The God of Endings is a story of love, family, and history, as seen through the eyes of an immortal woman.

- Engel


The Extinction of Irena Rey (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The Extinction of Irena Rey By Jennifer Croft Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781639731701
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - March 5th, 2024

A Booker Prize-winning translator writing about eight translators lost in the wilderness looking for an author whose great work they're all trying to translate. I'm not really sure what more you could ask for. - James

- Engel


The Warm Hands of Ghosts (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The Warm Hands of Ghosts: A Novel By Katherine Arden Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780593128251
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Del Rey - February 13th, 2024

Ghosts and the Great War collide in this humorous, heartbreaking speculative novel, in which a combat nurse searches for her missing brother. In the fall of 1917, Freddie Iven wakes after an explosion to find himself trapped underground with a wounded enemy soldier. In the early winter of 1918, Laura Iven receives a notice that her brother has died in combat, but something about it doesn't make any sense. In a world torn apart by war, the two siblings must decide whether life is still worth fighting for.

- Engel


So Let Them Burn (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
So Let Them Burn (The Divine Traitors #1) By Kamilah Cole Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780316534635
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 16th, 2024

What happens after the hero has already saved the world once? In this Jamaican-inspired fantasy novel, a gods-blessed heroine must choose between saving her sister or protecting her homeland... again.

- Engel


Faebound (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Faebound: A Novel By Saara El-Arifi Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780593723005
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Del Rey - January 23rd, 2024

In the latest by The Finale Strife author Saara El-Arifi, two elven sisters become enmeshed in a dangerously alluring fae court. This is perfect for anyone looking to sink their teeth into a new high fantasy series!

- Engel


Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell: A Novel By Susanna Clarke Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781635576726
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - August 11th, 2020

In this unusual novel that's perfect for readers fresh off the high of R.F. Kuang's Babel, two magicians change history by bringing magic back to nineteenth-century England. It's quiet, rich in historical detail, and employs good direction of it's magic. It's not to miss if you enjoy expansive world building, humor that's reminiscent of P.G. Wodehouse, and won't mind reading an 800 page novel (be not afraid!!).

- Engel


The Hobbit Illustrated by Author (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The Hobbit Illustrated by the Author (Tolkien Illustrated Editions) By J. R. R. Tolkien, J. R. R. Tolkien (Illustrator) Cover Image
$75.00
ISBN: 9780063347533
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: William Morrow - September 19th, 2023

I know my fellow nerds will love this at first sight so I don't need to say much but here goes: this is a new edition of The Hobbit (there's no shortage of those, I know) but it features illustrations by ol' Tolkien himself. Grab a little treat for yourself too while you're hustling to buy this. You deserve it <3

- Engel


Starling House (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Starling House: A Reese's Book Club Pick By Alix E. Harrow Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250799050
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Tor Books - October 3rd, 2023

"I dream sometimes about a house I’ve never seen. I should be scared, but in the dream I don’t hesitate. In my dream, I’m home." Starling House is a contemporary Southern Gothic novel about a small town, a haunted house, and a young woman trying desperately to be a Good Adult; it also happens to be my favorite 2023 release! Charming, heartbreaking, delightfully creepy, and hilariously romantic, this is a great addition to everyone's fall to-be-read list!!!

- Engel


Rouge (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Rouge: A Novel By Mona Awad Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982169695
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: S&S/ Marysue Rucci Books - September 12th, 2023

Mona Awad's latest novel is a Snow White-inspired convergence of grief, psychosis, and perilous beauty, about a lonely dress shop clerk whose mother dies unexpectedly. Crammed full of the hallmarks of a truly horrifying fairy tale, it's a masterful commentary on youth and the lengths that people will go to for the sake of proximity to beauty.

- Engel


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Engel